Introduction

Tilesets are used in in a variety of different games. They are used to help development teams design games in a much easier and more time effective way. Although tilesets take time to make, they do save a significant amount of time once the tileset is ready to be used, hence it is used on a range of different games, mostly in side scrollers and top down games. Using tilesets is a great way to also keep consistency within a game which can be the main intention if the environment needs to be repetitive. Oppositely several assets can be made to counter this so that the environment is unique and hasn’t been shaped with a tileset. In this blog post I will be discussing the uses of tilesets and how they are used effectively to create an environment for a game. I will also be showing processes as to how I have created my own tilesets for both practise and whilst following a criteria for our game.

Tilesets Explanation

Tilesets are a great way to design a game since they can easily be used once the assets have been created. If each part of the tileset is created properly, designing each level of the game can be one of the easiest parts as the development team only has to piece together what is needed in the level. This is why having a larger set of tiles can be beneficial since it will give variety and will overall make the level more organic.

This technique is used by creating a document of all the assets that would be needed in the design and then programming the game to take parts of the document when needed in the level. The game will also be programmed to place certain assets next to each other to form a shape or object. This means that each tile needs to be basic since they are most likely going to be placed consecutively next to one another. It also means that the tiles need to be seamless in that they don’t look irregular when placed in their positions. For example a tile is only a small piece of what would be seen in the design. Not only that, but some objects within the level might not be a perfect square shape which means that more than one tile would be needed to represent that object. This is what is needed for most objects within games.

Tileset Practise

Here I practised creating some tilesets. I felt that starting with a basic tile would be a good way to learn the technique and how it could be used well with different kinds of designs. To start I created a simple brick design. This was done on a 16×16 canvas. Since the tile had to be seamless I needed to make sure that the edges of the tile would match up with the opposite ends. To help with this I used the filter offset option to allow me to see the design from a different perspective as if it was being seen in a larger pattern. Here is what the original tile looked like.tileset-1

After finishing the original tile I created a new canvas. This time it would be 48×48 so that I could add the original tile into a 3×3 grid. This would allow me to see the tile in a pattern as if it was going to be used in a game. Since I used the filter offset tool I knew that it would be seamless.

Next I wanted to create a more complex pattern, this time it would be focused more on what could be used for our game. This meant that the pattern needed to be something that Tileset 3.PNGwould be seen in the Victorian times, therefore old and desaturated. To create this pattern I used the exact same process from my first tileset. Firstly I created a pattern for the original tile, this time I used a 32×32 canvas so that I could add more detail since it was going to be a more complex pattern. I then created a new 96×96 canvas so I could see how the pattern worked on a larger scale. After doing this I used the filter offset tool to adapt the image to get a seamless pattern.

Once we had created two basic tile patterns we needed to create a set of tiles that could be used in a game. Out of the two patterns I had made I preferred the first red brick pattern since I felt that the edges were more suttle and that it the shading worked better, therefore I used this for my practise tileset. Since this was our first tileset, we needed to create basic assets that would allow us to design a basic concept level for our game. Since I had a brick pattern I planned on being able to create platforms for the game. To create a full set of tiles that could be used, I needed to create several different adaptions of the first original tile. By creating different adaptions I would be able to use the tiles for almost any situation that they would be needed for. It would also mean that I would have a variety of choice when it came to designing the game.

tileset brick.png

tileset-environment

When I had finished the 24 different tilesets I was able to start creating an environment in which they could be used in. I didn’t have a criteria as to how the environment needed to look so I felt like I could create something with a neutral atmosphere, something that could be used in a positive or negative scenario. I changed the tiles placed on the bottom edge to a dark black colour to signify danger.

Game Design Document Homework

Game Overview

For our scenario we were given a character and a location that could be used for the plot of the game. The character we were given was Ada Lovelace, a significant individual who worked on the analytical machine. We were also given Egypt as our location. The plot of the game is that it starts with Ada Lovelace working on the Analytical Machine. She travelled to Egypt in search for antediluvian equation that may be the key to her work. After traversing the boggy Black Land, she reaches the sandy Red Land to explore the pyramid for her research. But in her hast, she unlocks an ancient evil forcing her to use her brains to stop the past consuming the present by collecting mystical stones to seal the dead back in their tombs. The goal of the game is to follow the story and complete each level successfully.

Target Audience

Since our game is based around historical characters, locations and events, the game would be played most by people of a young age. I think that it is not only a suitable game for young people but it is also educational and would be a great way to get people to learn about the history of influential people in computer programming. In particular, I think the game would be played most by students aged between 13 – 18 who are interested in history. This is because the game is based on different historical events that are tied into one another. As well as this, it is made up of a pixel art format which is a very nostalgic design foundation. To some people the contrast between historical elements and the pixel art format, could be a significant reason as to why they would want to play the game.

Visual Style

Since our games design format is based around pixel art, I think that the colour schemes used are going to be very important. The game is based in both London and Egypt so I feel that we have a great opportunity to use a solid colour scheme and show what we have learnt throughout the term about colour and how it can be used to give information to the player. Both settings are traditionally desaturated so I feel that using a mixture of bright and desaturated colours would be a good way of showing where the players interest should be.

Sound Effects and Music

Our game is based in two very different places which means that the music associated with them are very dissimilar. I think that the style of music should change throughout the game as the character transitions from location to location. This would give a great sense of atmosphere and would be a good way of giving information to the player as to how they should perceive what is happening at that point in the game.

Tilesets

screenshot_1

obstacle-1

lifeset-1

Bibliography:

Ltd, Y.G. (no date) Tiles. Available at: https://docs.yoyogames.com/source/dadiospice/001_advanced%20use/more%20about%20rooms/tiles.html (Accessed: 27 February 2017).

