Why?

I joined Digital Design to explore how I could improve my skills and experiment as to how I could develop my interests. I wanted to give myself a different perspective and try new software and techniques. My main intention was to study motion design, analysing how it could be used and what pathway I’d like to pursue as a career. Motion Design is my main interest since it is a combination of both graphic design and animation. I’m particularly interested in branding and how videos can be used to sell products and show purpose. By joining the course I feel that I have been able to comprehensively experiment with new skills and software to strengthen my skills. As well as this I think that the work I have done over the last few months has impacted on my own personal projects since I have been able to apply what I have learnt to my work. This has allowed me to progress and gain new opportunities which was the overall goal from joining the course.

FMP Proposal Ideas

Proposal #1.

What are you considering producing?

For my first proposal, I’d like to explore the idea of working with motion graphics to create an advert. This would included me designing and animating an advertisement around the length of thirty seconds to a minute. My main intention would be to try and create a high quality piece as if it were to be used to promote a real product. With past experience I feel that I would be able to achieve a high quality from the work. I’d also like to make it for a brand that I could then contact to see if I could possibly get some feedback from someone within the company.

Why are you considering making this?

I have past experience with motion graphics and have made several animations for companies and brands before. Some of which have been seen by employees/representatives and have given feedback on my work. However I have never been able to work on a project for a good amount of time so I feel like this would be a good opportunity for me to create a more in depth advert with a much more comprehensive thought process.

Why is it important to you?

This is important to me as I feel like this kind of work will greatly benefit me in the future. At the moment I have only ever worked on short animations and haven’t been able to work on a longer more thought out project. I also think that contacting the brand after the production has finished is just as important since it would allow me to possibly get some feedback from someone I wouldn’t normally be able to be in contact with.

What skills are you going to be using?

Throughout the project I’d be using a variety of different skills. Firstly I’d need to research what kind of adverts would be used for the brand I would be working on. Then I’d need to plan as to how I could improve on what they are doing and how I could change the audiences perspective of how the product would be seen. After doing this I’d need to plan with moodboards and storyboards. This would be very important since this is a longer project that needs to be worked on efficiently to get the best results. Then I would begin production by working on style frames and animatics so that I can get a better idea of what would work best for the project. Finally I would need to animate the actual advert using my planning and research to get the quality I’d be looking for. So overall I would be using the programmes from the creative suite such as Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects, and Premiere Pro. I’d also be using planning and research skills to set a good foundation for the project and work needed.

Who is your target audience?

The target audience would be both the brand I am working on and the audience of that brand. In production I would need to think about both since I would need to get the attention of the brand, but in doing so the advert would need to apply to its target audience.

What research will you be carrying out?

For this project I would need to research a variety of different things. The main area of research would be to find out what kind of brand I’d like to work on and how their style of advert could be made. I think this would be very important since it would give a good foundation for the project and would allow me to understand what would work best for the situation. I’ll also need to research advertisements from similar brands so that I can get an idea of how my work could potentially be used to be seen alongside competitor brands.

Proposal #2.

What are you considering producing?

For my second proposal, I am going to keep within the motion graphics area, although I’d like to work on a more niche aspect of it. Similar to adverts, explainer videos are used to show a brand or company and represent what they do. However what makes them different is that explainer videos show much more detail as to what is done and gives a much more comprehensive indication as to how they can give value. I would like to explore this medium of content by creating a video that could be used by a brand or company to help explain what they do and how they provide to the average customer.

Why are you considering making this?

The main reason why I would like to do this is because I am interested in how these kind of videos can be used to convey a message to customers whilst still showing a good representation of the brand. As well as this, these kind of projects take significantly longer than what I have worked on before so I feel like this would be a great opportunity to show what I have learnt throughout the year both on the course and in my own time.

Why is it important to you?

Doing a project like this is hugely important to me since it would allow me to progress with my work and improve my portfolio. I feel like I would be able to take my findings from this and apply it to many other projects which is a great benefit of being able to work on something like this for so long. Making explainer videos for me would be hugely beneficial since it would allow me to expand who I am able to work for as well as how I can attract potential clients and leads.

What skills are you going to be using?

During the project I would be using many different skills and techniques. Similarly to the first proposal I’d need to research the kind of videos would be used for the brand and its competitors.  I’d also need to plan as to how I could improve on what was already being done and shown on their website/social media. After doing this I’d need to plan with moodboards and storyboards. Differently from the first proposal I’d also need to create a script as to what the narrator would say in the video to accompany the visuals. Then in the actual production I’d be using the skills that I have learnt throughout the year such as graphic design, animation and sound design.

Who is your target audience?

Again similarly to the first proposal the target audience would be both the brand I am working on and the audience of that brand. My main focus would be to figure how I could possibly create this video so that it could convert sales for the brand. I feel that understanding this would be a huge benefit for this project and future work so that is going to be a big focus throughout the entire process.

What research will you be carrying out?

As said above, one of my main focuses will be to research how explainer videos can be used to benefit the brand as much as possible. I feel that if I research this in great detail I will be able to understand the concept of the project better, allowing me to finish with a better result. I will do this by looking at examples of these from both big and small brands analysing how they have been used to provide for the customer and company.

Proposal #3.

What are you considering producing?

For my last proposal I would like to work on video composition. Ideally I’d like to combine what I have learnt in Film and TV Production and Digital Design to create a reel of footage that has been altered to show what I have learnt throughout the year. My main focus would be to seamlessly show what techniques I have learnt such as illustration, sound design, animation and graphic design.

Why are you considering making this?

My main reason behind doing this would be because it would allow me to use all of the skills and techniques I have learnt over the year. I also feel that it would add some variety to my portfolio since I do not have any other projects like this. As well as this it would give the opportunity to work on my skills and show potential clientele that I am able to do more work like this.

Why is it important to you?

Adding variety to my work is very important to me since I feel that it would allow me to progress in areas that I wouldn’t usually think about. It would also help me get a better understanding as to what I would like to do throughout my career and how I can develop my portfolio to cater for the pathway I choose to take.

What skills are you going to be using?

Throughout the course of the project I will be using a variety of different skills. My main focus will be to include motion graphics as I feel most confident in this area. Another big area that I would like to include is what I learnt in the Film and TV course. By applying what i have learnt about lighting and composition I feel that the final product will be significantly better. Lastly I would like to incorporate my illustration skills to show that side of my work throughout the year.

Who is your target audience?

Differently from the other proposals, the target audience wouldn’t directly be people from brands or companies. A vodeo like this would most likely be directed for younger people possibly around my age or those who are interested in motion graphics and video composition. This means that once the project is finished I would upload the outcome onto my YouTube channel to try and find any feedback or guidance for future projects.

What research will you be carrying out?

For this project I would need to carry out both primary and secondary research. Firstly I would need to test before i start to make sure that the equipment I have is sufficient for what I am hoping to do. As well as this location and props would be a big factor as to what I am able to accomplish. For the secondary research I would investigate as to how I could improve on what I already know and how I can incorporate new skills into the project.

 

